Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Press
Press Release - Detail
PRESS RELEASE
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
CONTACT: Mia Rutledge
Public Relations Clerk
Birmingham Public Library
Phone: (205) 226-3604
E-mail: mrutledge@bham.lib.al.us

 2011 Children’s Summer Reading Program @ the BirminghamPublic Library
 
The Birmingham Public Library (BPL) is excited to launch its 2011 Summer Reading program on June 1 at all 18 BPL locations. BPL’s commitment to outstanding summer reading experiences for children, teens, and adults is reflected in the many and varied offerings for all ages and interests. This summer’s line-up surpasses the highly attended programming offered last year in which more than 6,300 patrons participated, more than 42,700 books were read, and 440 special events were offered with a combined attendance of more than 18,500 children, teens, and adults. Sign up on, or after, June 1 at any BPL location to take part in our free and fantastic Summer Reading program.
 
The Birmingham Public Library is proud to offer the following sample of events for the month of June designed specifically for our younger patrons. Please check with your local BPL branch or at www.bplonline.org for more information.
 
Around the World in Twenty-Seven Hundred Seconds with the North BirminghamStoryGuys!
North Birmingham, Wednesday, June 8, 10:30 a.m.
East Ensley, Thursday, Jun 9, 3:00-4:00 p.m.
 
How to Make a Cherry Pie
Storytellers give a tour of the USA. Craft included.
Woodlawn, Tuesday, June 7, 10:00 a.m.
Springville Road, Wednesday, June 8, 10:00 a.m.
East Lake, Thursday, June 9, 10:00 a.m.
Inglenook, Friday, June 24, 9:30 a.m.
 
One World, Lots of Magic
Magic Man Larry Moore performs magic tricks.
Ensley, Wednesday, June 1, 1:00 p.m.
Inglenook, Friday, June 3, 9:30 a.m.
Woodlawn, Tuesday, June 14, 10:00 a.m.
North Avondale, Tuesday, June 14, 1:30 p.m.
Springville Road, Wednesday, June 15, 10:00 a.m.
East Lake, Thursday, June 16, 10:00 a.m.
Southside, Friday, June 17, 9:30 a.m.
Powderly, Monday, June 20, 10:00 a.m.
Titusville, Tuesday, June 21, 10:30 a.m.
Smithfield, Wednesday, June 22, 10:00 a.m.
Avondale, Wednesday, June 22, 2:00 p.m.
West End, Thursday, June 23, 11:00 a.m.
Eastwood, Friday, June 24, 10:45 a.m.
Five Points West, Thursday, June 30, 10:00 a.m.
 
One World, Many Animals
Raptors and reptiles from the Coosa River Science School and Alabama 4-H Center.
Powderly, Tuesday, June 7, 10:00 a.m.
North Birmingham, Thursday, June 9, 10:30 a.m.
Central, Tuesday, June 14, 10:30 a.m.
Avondale, Tuesday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.
North Avondale, Tuesday, June 21, 1:30 p.m.
Titusville, Tuesday, June 28, 9:25 a.m.
Woodlawn, Thursday, June 30, 10:00 a.m.
 
Ronald McDonald is Coming to a Library Near You!
Ronald McDonald stops by for a visit.
Ensley, Wednesday, June 22, 1:00 p.m.
North Birmingham, Wednesday, June 29, 10:30 a.m.
 
The World of Jazz
Members of the Jazz Hall of Fame perform.
Smithfield, Tuesday, June 7, 10:00 a.m.
Inglenook, Friday, June 10, 9:30 a.m.
Powderly, Monday, June 13, 10:00 a.m.
Titusville, Tuesday, June 14, 10:30 a.m.
Ensley, Wednesday, June 15, 1:00 p.m.
North Birmingham, Thursday, June 16, 10:30 a.m.
Eastwood, Friday, June 17, 10:45 a.m.
Five Points West, Wednesday, June 23, 10:00 a.m.
Southside, Friday, June 24, 9:30 a.m.
West End, Thursday, June 30, 11:00 a.m.
 
Stories and Strings with the AlabamaSymphony
Books come to life with Ms. Meaghan, a member of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra. Rhythm instruments provided, or bring your own. Twenty-four hour advance registration required.
North Birmingham, Thursday, June 2, 10:30 a.m.
Southside, Friday, June 3, 9:30 a.m.
Powderly, Monday, June 6, 1:30 p.m.
Titusville, Tuesday, June 7, 10:30 a.m.
Smithfield, Wednesday, June 8, 10:00 a.m.
Ensley, Wednesday, June 8, 1:00 p.m.
West End, Thursday, June 9, 11:00 a.m.
Central, Friday, June 10, 10:30 a.m.
 
Travelin’ Tales with Lee Bryan, That Puppet Guy
A tantalizing trio of timeless tales from India, China, and Native American Indian lore are given new life through the magic of puppetry. Twenty-four hour advance registration required.
Avondale Library Tuesday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.
Page Last Modified: 10/15/2014 7:10 AM