Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
http://www.bplonline.org
Press
Press Release - Detail
PRESS RELEASE
Friday, May 20, 2011
CONTACT: Mia Rutledge
Public Relations Clerk
Birmingham Public Library
Phone: (205) 226-3604
E-mail: mrutledge@bham.lib.al.us

2011 Adult Summer Reading Program @ the Birmingham Public Library

The Birmingham Public Library (BPL) is excited to launch its 2011 Summer Reading program on June 1 at all 18 BPL locations. BPL’s commitment to outstanding summer reading experiences for children, teens, and adults is reflected in the many and varied offerings for all ages and interests. This summer’s line-up surpasses the highly attended programming offered last year in which more than 6,300 patrons participated, more than 42,700 books were read, and 440 special events were offered with a combined attendance of more than 18,500 children, teens, and adults. Sign up on, or after, June 1 at any BPL location to take part in our free and fantastic Summer Reading program.

The Birmingham Public Library is proud to offer the following sample of events for the month of June designed specifically for our adult patrons. Please check with your local BPL branch or at www.bplonline.org for more information.

Destination Magic with Larry Moore
Magic Man Larry Moore performs tricks.
Avondale, Monday, June 13, 6:30 p.m.
Springville Road, Tuesday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.
Powderly, Friday, June 17, 1:30 p.m.
Central, Wednesday, June 22, 12:00 p.m.
Southside, Wednesday, June 29, 10:30 a.m.

Novel Destinations with Dolores Hydock
Performance by Award-winning storyteller Dolores Hydock
Central, Wednesday, June 15, 12:00 p.m.
Springville Road, Tuesday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.

Seasoned Performers present Are We There Yet?
A humorous series of skits and dialogues on travel and tourism.
Central, Wednesday, Jun 1, 12:00 p.m.
North Birmingham, Monday, June 6, 11:00 a.m.
Springville Road, Tuesday, June 7, 6:30 p.m.
Southside, Wednesday, June 8, 10:30 a.m.
Ensley, Tuesday, June 14, 1:00 p.m.
Titusville, Monday, June 20, 11:30 a.m.

The World of Jazz
East Ensley, Friday, June 3, 3:00 p.m.
Springville Road, Tuesday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.
Avondale, Thursday, Jun 30, 2:00 p.m.
Page Last Modified: 7/22/2014 10:24 AM